Wow! I Guess I’ll Wash That Bowl After All!

Our focus is so powerful.  I believe we are always focused on something.  We may be focused on what we truly want.  Or we may be distracted from the focus on what we truly want and so by default focused on what we don’t want.   In my case, I found out that I was really, really focused on wanting to wash a dirty bowl.  (Which is ironic because at that point I hadn’t washed dishes for a couple of days.)

True story!  A few weeks ago, I was hungry because I hadn’t eaten all day.   I was also in a hurry because I had things I wanted to do.

But I had to pause to wash a bowl because all of my bowls were dirty.

As I was washing a bowl, I looked at the pile of bowls next to the sink and noticed that the three-day old salad dressing in another bowl wasn’t looking too sharp.

So I literally started to have this intense debate in my head about whether or not I should take the time, the whole twenty seconds, out of my busy afternoon to wash the second bowl.

Just as I decided “No,” I don’t want to take the time, I dropped the bowl that I was washing in the sink and it cracked in two.

Wow! Now I no longer had to debate about washing the second bowl.

It’s interesting to note that I had been focusing on washing the second bowl and suddenly I created a situation in which I had to wash the second bowl.  Now did my focus on the second bowl cause me to directly drop the first bowl?  I don’t think so.

But my lack of attention on holding the first bowl caused me to drop it and that lack of attention was caused by my focus on the bowl I found disgusting.

A bright side of this story is I suddenly got an opportunity to wash the bowl with dirty salad dressing in it.  But to me the far greater lesson is just how strongly we as humans can focus and how as we focus we begin to create whatever we are focused on.  When we are distracted, we sometimes by default focus on creating what we don’t particularly want, (like broken bowls).  However, the magnificent news is that when we are focused on what we do want, we have amazing power.

Game of the Day

How can you HAVE FUN using your focus more deliberately to create the life that you want?

Jason Freeman is a professional writer, and a one-of-a-kind public speaker.  He is the founder and CEO of Heroic Yes! Productions. Jason has an MFA in Poetry from the University of Nebraska.  He knows the pain of perceiving one’s life through a lens of limitation and also the thrill of moving beyond that mindset.  For more information on Jason’s powerful message, or to book him to present to your organization, go to www.HeroicYesProductions.com. 

Leave a Reply

