Nurturing Your Superpowers

Do you ever look to others for proof that you are OK?  Do you ever rely on the approval of others as evidence that you are with the program?  Do you ever feel that you need others to reassure you that you are making your mark?

There have been many times in my life when I would have answered YES to all three of those questions.  During these times, I have looked far and wide, hoping that others would convince me of my internal value.

I’ve noticed that in these moments I have tried to convince the world to admire and love me, so that I could convince myself that I was worthy of admiring and loving me.

This outward search for affirmation is a mighty tempting course of action when we feel unsure of ourselves.

But this approach is like Clark Kent doubting that he could indeed be Superman.    Then based on this doubt, donning a cape to fly off to save people.  And finally, only after he had gotten acclaim from others for being a hero, going into a phone booth and patting himself on the back for being an all-right guy.

Having a strong, healthy self-confidence is indeed a SUPERPOWER.  Radiant self-confidence is a SUPERPOWER we each have a capacity to nurture everyday.  Self-confidence is so AMAZING because it is our opportunity to really appreciate our talents, our lives, and ourselves.

Isn’t it FUN that we have the ability to recognize ourselves as SUPER?

Game of the Day

Whenever you feel your SELF-CONFIDENCE SUPERPOWER waning, STOP!
Immediately ask yourself   “What do I love about myself at this moment?”

Jason Freeman is a professional writer, and a one-of-a-kind public speaker.  He is the founder and CEO of Heroic Yes! Productions. Jason has an MFA in Poetry from the University of Nebraska.  He knows the pain of perceiving one’s life through a lens of limitation and also the thrill of moving beyond that mindset.  For more information on Jason’s powerful message, or to book him to present to your organization, go to www.HeroicYesProductions.com. 

2 responses

Leave a Reply

