The Joy of Step Ahead Living

Occasionally, circumstances we find frustrating are going to arise, however sometimes with fairly little effort we can look ahead and predict potentially time-consuming, costly and painful circumstances.  Once we identify these potential circumstances, we have the opportunity to spend a little time taking steps to avoid them, in the same way that if we saw something up ahead in the middle of the road and the other lane was clear, we would simply drive around it rather than into it.  I call noticing potentially frustrating circumstances and taking steps to move around them Step Ahead Living.

This process requires close observation of your life; similar to how when you are driving you pay close attention to the road.

I experienced a vivid example of choosing my circumstances before they chose me a few months ago. This opportunity started off simply.  I went to a car wash and had my car cleaned inside and out.

Then inspired by how clean my car was, I organized the trunk and the center console.  After that since I was on a roll, I decided to go over the top and organize the glove compartment (a historic step for me, if not for all of humankind), thinking that there wasn’t much in there and it would be a simple five-minute job.  What I discovered surprised me.  I found spare car keys, which are now in my apartment where they will be of much more use if I ever lock my main keys in my car.  I also found that my current vehicle registration was missing.  (This missing registration really didn’t impress me and I don’t suspect that it would have impressed an officer if I were pulled over.)

To say the least, in a brief search of my glove compartment, I found big clues that I wasn’t prepared for two potentially time-consuming, dollar consuming and frustrating circumstances.

Step Ahead Living is not about becoming fixated on preventing uncertainty and challenging circumstances in the future.  This fixation can seriously distract from the present and add a great deal of stress to life.  (I say this based on years of unglamorous personal experience.)   Rather, Step Ahead Living is about finding joy in paying attention to your surroundings and from that attention taking steps (which are often simple) to create ease in the future.

Game of the Day

1. Have fun practicing Step Ahead Living by finding joy in paying attention to your surroundings.

2. When you notice a frustrating potential circumstance, think about what steps you could take to avoid or move around this circumstance.

3.  Either take these steps right away or schedule a time to take care of them in a timely manner.

4.  When you notice an opportunity to engage in Step Ahead Living, it can be fun to look at the money and time you potentially saved through preparation.

Jason Freeman is a professional writer, and a one-of-a-kind public speaker.  He is the founder and CEO of Heroic Yes! Productions. Jason has an MFA in Poetry from the University of Nebraska.  He knows the pain of perceiving one’s life through a lens of limitation and also the thrill of moving beyond that mindset.  For more information on Jason’s powerful message, or to book him to present to your organization, go to www.HeroicYesProductions.com. 

Leave a Reply

