What The Heck Cleaning the Bathroom Has To Do With Achieving Your Dreams

Think of your big dreams.  At this moment, what do you have a better idea of how to do?  How to wash your laundry and sort your mail or how to achieve your big dreams?   

Asked another way, which activity are you more likely to complete today, cleaning out your car or climbing to the pinnacle of your career?

We often tend to let the common everyday tasks that we know so well go undone because they can seem to take too much time, to be too boring, to be beneath what we are capable of.

Why fold underwear and clean our shower when we are focusing on being a millionaire?

We could adopt the motto that life is too short to vacuum, dust, clean the windows and take out trash.

Or we could celebrate these simple activities that make our living spaces look, smell and feel so good.

These simple activities also provide us with a sense of accomplishment and a sense that we are capable of ordering and creating our world.

Our dreams involve the same things, ordering, creating, accomplishing.

What would it be like, rather than thinking of cleaning the bathroom as a major drag, if we thought of it as practicing the same skills we need to achieve our dreams?

Game of the Day

What do you get that is of use to you from reading this blog?

How will you apply it?

Jason Freeman is a professional writer, and a one-of-a-kind public speaker.  He is the founder and CEO of Heroic Yes! Productions. Jason has an MFA in Poetry from the University of Nebraska.  He knows the pain of perceiving one’s life through a lens of limitation and also the thrill of moving beyond that mindset.  For more information on Jason’s powerful message, or to book him to present to your organization, go to www.HeroicYesProductions.com.

4 responses

  1. Hi Jason!

    This is great- I just reheated a cup of coffee ( 2 minutes in the microwave). The dishwasher needed unloading, so after I started the coffee, I began putting away the dishes. I had everything put away before the coffee was done! WOW!

    I have found that, in particular, making my bed in the morning is the daily task I struggle most with. When I don’t do it, I come home to a disheveled unmade bed that might remind me of other things I have not accomplished. When I do complete this task, I find it takes just a few minutes, and I feel good about doing it, (I’ve started my day on a good note accomplishing a small goal) and I come home to a made bed that is pleasing to the eye!

    I think accomplishing everyday goals truly does create a pattern and frame of mind that helps me works toward greater goals.

    Thanks for once again accentuating the everyday bits that relate to the big picture!

  2. I will now get some things done around the house that I usually put off until later..you’re right if you get to it and get it done you have a sense of accomplishment and you can carry that over to your big dreams instead of just sitting and dreaming about things take some steps to make it happen. Thanks Jason I really enjoy your posts.

Leave a Reply

