Plan Out Your Drama

I have been known from time to time to become fixated on minor circumstances that I don’t like.  I then have been known to use these circumstances as an excuse to create high drama for those around me and myself.  (High drama, as I’m using it here, involves worry, anxiety, possible arguments and general frustration.)

Can you relate?  If so, think of the last time you created high drama out of a minor circumstance.

Today as I was on the verge of creating high drama, I thought, “When we feel ourselves itching to create high drama, why not script it out like they do in the movies?”

This idea sounded fun!  Check it out- we could script out our highly dramatic part, and other people’s parts as they responded to our drama.  We could even add in emotional cues.  This would be our DRAMA-RICH SCRIPT.

Then for comparison, we could write a script that was absent of the high drama that we are contemplating creating.   This would be our DRAMA-FREE SCRIPT.

Finally, we could compare the scripts and decide which we preferred.

As an example, I’ll give you a brief background of the high drama I was contemplating creating yesterday, followed by a few lines of my DRAMA-RICH SCRIPT.  Then, I will share a few lines from my DRAMA-FREE SCRIPT.

Ok, here it goes.  Drum roll please!!!  (It’s good to be dramatic when you are about to create a DRAMA-RICH SCRIPT).

Background:

On a dark and stormy Saturday night in a Mexican Restaurant at about 9:05 and 10 seconds, I noticed an unexplained black spot about the circumference of a pen cap on my left thumb.  Now common sense told me that there was a 99.99% chance that this mysterious spot was no big deal.  However, my sometimes-hypochondriac imagination darkly entertained me with different ideas.

A few lines from my DRAMA-RICH SCRIPT:

Jason Freeman (with a super concerned look on his face asks everyone he meets):  “What do you think this spot on my thumb could possibly mean?  Should I go to a dermatologist?  Should I go to the emergency room?  Why me?  Why poor me?”

First person Jason meets (sensing Jason’s distress and wanting to comfort him):  “Oh Jason, it’s nothing.”

Second person Jason meets (wanting to be on the safe side):  “Jason you should definitely make an appointment to see a dermatologist.”

Third person Jason meets (annoyed by Jason’s over-dramatic nature):   “Jason get a life!”

A few lines of my DRAMA FREE SCRIPT:

Jason Freeman (Our proud hero takes courage, believes the black spot on his thumb is a tiny blood blister and boldly asks everyone he meets):  “What has been amazing about your day?”

Person 1:  Says something cool.

Person 2:  Says something cool.

Person 3:  Says something cool.

Conclusion of this episode:

The mysterious black spot did end up being a tiny blood blister, which popped while our dashing hero, Jason Freeman, was washing dishes.

And Everyone Lived Happily Ever After.

The key to writing your DRAMA-RICH SCRIPT is to have fun and to go a little overboard on the drama.  And have a great time writing your DRAMA-FREE SCRIPT too.  Then after composing your two scripts, you will be able to make a more informed choice as to whether you want to create high drama or not.

Game of the Day

The next time you feel yourself working up to creating high drama out of a minor (or major) circumstance, follow these four simple steps as soon as possible:

  1. Create your DRAMA-RICH SCRIPT.
  2. Create your DRAMA-FREE SCRIPT
  3. Read both scripts and decide which one you like better.
  4. Act out the script you like the best.

Jason Freeman is a professional writer, and a one-of-a-kind public speaker.  He is the founder and CEO of Heroic Yes! Productions. Jason has an MFA in Poetry from the University of Nebraska.  He knows the pain of perceiving one’s life through a lens of limitation and also the thrill of moving beyond that mindset.  For more information on Jason’s powerful message, or to book him to present to your organization, go to www.HeroicYesProductions.com.

Leave a Reply

