The Nemesis of Opportunity

Have you ever had a wonderful day of amazing opportunities and happenings, only to have one small “bad thing” happen towards the end it?  Have you then ever noticed your attention drifting to this one small “bad” thing instead of all the good things that happened during your wonderful day?

This one small “bad thing” is a classic “LACKportunity.” (Note to the reader of this blog, in Jason Freeman’s personal dictionary LACKportunity is the combination of the words “lack” and “opportunity.”  LACKportunity is the much less fun-loving, opposite in fact, cousin of opportunity.)

Now a quick LACKportunity story of my own– I couldn’t get into one of my on-line accounts after an amazing day of yoga and walking and conversations.  So did I take the opportunity to savor the day?  NO, at least not for the next hour!!!  During that hour, rather than taking the opportunity to delight in the day that I had, I took the LACKportunity to focus on my frustration about not being able to get into my account. I tried and tried different approaches to get login and password help, but nothing seemed to work.  So I decided to bask in the LACKportunity of my frustration.  I took this LACKportunity to wonder, “What in the world will I do if I can never get into this account again?” (Basking in LACKportunity has the tendency to make me over-dramatic.)

Opportunity abounds and so does LACKportunity.  LACKportunities seem to grow exponentially stronger the more we focus on them.  When we focus on our Opportunities, our LACKportunities seem to naturally disappear.

(I love writing LACKportunity and LACKportunities repeatedly.  I feel like I’m writing a Dr. Seuss book.  Green Eggs and LACKportunities…)

Will I have the opportunity to get into my on-line account again?  Most likely, once I clear my head of LACKportunity thoughts and focus on creating an opportunity to find a new way to reset my password.  And if that doesn’t work?  I’ll have the opportunity to create a new account.

What should you do if you ever, like I did, feel yourself suddenly fixating your Laser-Beam focus on a LACKportunity?

Quick try saying LACKportunity twenty times fast and then pick-up your LACKportunity like an imaginary softball and toss it as far away from you as you can, so that you can busy yourself focusing on your opportunities.

Next step!  Look up!  Look down!  Look North, South, East and West for even the smallest opportunity – the opportunity to smile at someone, the opportunity to notice something beautiful, the opportunity to savor a memory or look forward to a dream that gives you joy.  From focusing on the smallest opportunity, you will naturally begin to focus on more opportunities.  Focusing on the smallest opportunity is often more productive and definitely more fun than focusing on the biggest LACKportunity.

After focusing yourself on opportunity, you may still have a LACKportunity situation that you want to find a solution for.  One-way to approach this LACKportunity situation in a fresh way is to start by focusing on the smallest opportunity within your LACKportunity situation.  For example, my LACKportunity password situation has given me the opportunity to write this blog.

When LACKportunity starts knocking on your door, instead of answering, listen extra hard for opportunity.  It’s knocking!

Game of the Day

What is your Super Opportunity Plan Of Action for the next time you notice LACKportunity knocking?

Jason Freeman is a professional writer, and a one-of-a-kind public speaker.  He is the founder and CEO of Heroic Yes! Productions. Jason has an MFA in Poetry from the University of Nebraska.  He knows the pain of perceiving one’s life through a lens of limitation and also the thrill of moving beyond that mindset.  For more information on Jason’s powerful message, or to book him to present to your organization, go to www.HeroicYesProductions.com.

Leave a Reply

