What To Do About the News

Aside from the sports, weather, and the occasional feel good story, much of the local, state and national news seems to be often filled with arguing, violence and tragedy.

How does this type of news make you feel?

How is this type of news of use to you in your daily life and as a citizen of world?

Does this type of news influence how you act in the world?

I ask these questions, partly because I’m still not sure what to do about the news.

I confess that my approach to the news is to consume very little of it.  I have adopted this approach because the news often does not cover the part of life that I’m most interested in, the countless positive acts that people engage in everyday; the beauty of art, architecture and technology; and the wonder of nature.  I find that the more I look for this uplifting part of life, the more I find that it is in evidence everywhere.

So what to do about the news?  I have more questions:

How much news do we need to consume to be informed citizens?

If we are overwhelmed by the sadness in the world that often comes through the news how are we going to create a world of happiness, satisfaction and love?

How do we feel for all the people suffering in the world, and at the same time limit our exposure to the graphic details of the news?

We each have the opportunity to answer the questions I pose here for ourselves.  I must admit I don’t yet know how to answer many of these questions for myself, but I believe they are important for all of us to consider.

Game of the Day

How do you choose to relate to the news?

How do you choose to relate to the uplifting part of life?

Jason Freeman is a professional writer, and a one-of-a-kind public speaker.  He is the founder and CEO of Heroic Yes! Productions. Jason has an MFA in Poetry from the University of Nebraska.  He knows the pain of perceiving one’s life through a lens of limitation and also the thrill of moving beyond that mindset.  For more information on Jason’s powerful message, or to book him to present to your organization, go to www.HeroicYesProductions.com.

Leave a Reply

