Hire Yourself as a Happiness Detective

A few weekends ago, I saw a happy movie that was actually called The Happy Movie directed by Roko Belic.  I highly recommend it.  And movie recommendation from me is an unusual thing because I see very few movies.  (I’m not sure if this makes the recommendation more or less valuable.)

Since seeing the movie I have been thinking a good deal about happiness and I have questions.

If happiness is a central goal of humanity, how does it happen that there is so much unhappiness in the world?

If someone told you that they would give you twenty million dollars and all you had to do was to be constantly happy for six months, could you do it?

I think I might have a tough time with this challenge.   This is not because I don’t believe in happiness and want to be happy.  It’s just that I’m still solving the mystery of consistently creating my own happiness.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m happy the vast majority of time, but definitely not constantly.

You might well ask, Is it even a practical or worthy goal to be constantly happy?

Great!  You’re already talking like a Happiness Detective.

One thing I think is everyone’s path of clues to daily happiness will be somewhat different.  We have different tastes and wants.  So I encourage you to become your own Happiness Detective.  (Don’t worry! You won’t need to quit your day job).

As Happiness Detectives, even though we each need to do our own investigating and come to our own conclusions, we can still compare notes.

Here is an aspect of happiness I’m presently investigating:

Do things and people and places make us happy, or do we choose to create happiness with the things and people and places that come into our lives?

As I write this, I’m eating some of my favorite food, a veggie burrito and chips at Chipotle, enjoying the upbeat atmosphere and feeling really happy.

Would I feel this happy if I was drinking molasses straight from the bottle and sitting in a garbage dump?

I don’t think so.  Not by a long shot.

Now happiness would not be impossible with the molasses and the dump.  It might actually be fascinating to see what people throw away and if there were any treasures.

And if one had a camping stove and other ingredients one could maybe make molasses cookies.  (Ok, I’m stretching it. But please work with me, the point is that happiness can potentially be created in any circumstance.)

My shrewd deduction from my happiness investigation– it is best when possible to choose circumstances that I have an easy time feeling happy about.

Have fun being a Happiness Detective and investigating what truly makes you happy!

 Game of the Day

As your own best Happiness Detective, what are the questions that you are going to investigate regarding your happiness?

Jason Freeman is a professional writer, and a one-of-a-kind public speaker.  He is the founder and CEO of Heroic Yes! Productions. Jason has an MFA in Poetry from the University of Nebraska.  He knows the pain of perceiving one’s life through a lens of limitation and also the thrill of moving beyond that mindset.  For more information on Jason’s powerful message, or to book him to present to your organization, go to www.HeroicYesProductions.com.


2 responses

  1. Love the posts on happiness, Jason. I think you might be interested in what I thought of when you mentioned molasses: it made me think of your Grandma (my Aunt Nancy). Why? She made the most amazing molasses cookies called, “Crybaby Cookies” and it made me happy just thinking of her and how she loved to make those cookies. I can see her smiling and hear her soft chuckle!

Leave a Reply

