Turn on the Quiet

 

Noise is so normal.  At many times in my life, I thought I had to be noisy and always the life of the party to be cool.  In my view, it was boring and not worldly to be quiet.  I decided to make myself into a person who craved noise so I would fit in.

Lately, I’ve noticed that I have sought out more quiet time and that it’s wonderful.   It’s so relaxing and being relaxed just feels comfortable.  When I give myself abundant quiet time, I find I’m more able to focus, and have more freedom to create an uplifting perspective.

Focus is the act of being able to weed out much information so that you can pay attention to the information that is of importance to you.  I find focus much easier if I actively choose what information I take in.  To me, this means often deciding to drive without the radio on, choosing to limit my Internet surfing, and also not owning a TV.  (I truly love not having a TV in my living space.)

I also find that creating more quiet around me helps me maintain an uplifting perspective on the world.  Think of the perspective you get on the world from taking a walk around your neighborhood on a beautiful day compared to watching a violent movie.  Or even the nightly news.

It might be odd to ask the restaurant you are dining in to shut off the loud music they are playing, but when you are in your car or at home, the noisemakers have switches you can shut off, if you so choose.  You can turn on the quiet.

(Does turning on the quiet make a person cool?  I still don’t really know.  But I do definitely know that at times, it feels very good.)

Game of the Day

When you notice you car radio or the electronics at home seem to be wearing you down or annoying you, turn on the quiet.

Jason Freeman is a professional writer, and a one-of-a-kind public speaker.  He is the founder and CEO of Heroic Yes! Productions. Jason has an MFA in Poetry from the University of Nebraska.  He knows the pain of perceiving one’s life through a lens of limitation and also the thrill of moving beyond that mindset.  For more information on Jason’s powerful message, or to book him to present to your organization, go to www.HeroicYesProductions.com.

2 responses

  1. Hi Jason,
    I like your reflection on silence. Quiet enveloped the world before its birth. The first and only sounds we knew for many months in the womb were our mothers’ heartbeats. That’s the original rhythm of life (and the sound of the sonnet too, as you know). I spend a weekend each year in silence at a retreat house here in SD (Broomtree). This experience simply brings me back to the core of my Creator, my own essence and…. my own heartbeat. It’s good to sometimes listen to our own life’s rhythm, literally and figuratively, in silence. Thanks for the reminder to do so:).
    Hope you have a relaxing weekend:)
    Take care,
    Laura

Leave a Reply

