Enjoy Calm When You Are Running Late

Earlier this week, I was late to an event because I had chosen to sleep in.  As I was driving, I noticed that I was telling myself things like, “I’m late,” I’m out of time,”  “That light shouldn’t be red,” “The person ahead of me should go faster.”  It started to seem like I alone was trying to be on-time against all the lights and all the other cars on the road that were in my way and slowing me down.

Then I suddenly had the thought, “Hey! You know Jason all of these other people on the road want to get to where they are going and want to be on-time too.

Then I start doing more thinking and came to the conclusion that we are all are in this together.   If we are courteous to each other and relax; we all will have an easier and more pleasurable time reaching our destinations in a timely matter.  And even those frustrating traffic lights are just there as confident conductors to aid us all in this process.

Then I realized that even time wasn’t the enemy.  I could appreciate the ten minutes I still had to possibly get to my event on-time.  I didn’t have to resort to clock abuse by trying to beat the clock.  (Can you imagine how many times a day people all around the world try to beat the clock?  And that poor clock, all it’s doing is minding its own business ticking.)

How often do we feel all alone as we try to achieve our goals, be it to arrive at our destination in a timely fashion or some other goal?

Everyone has goals they are trying to reach, whether their goal be to run a marathon, make their next mortgage payment or simply eat their next meal.  (And the weary clock might simply have the goal of there being one day when nobody tries to beat it.)

We all are traversing the pathways of life together.  As we go towards our goals, it seems reassuring and peaceful to remember, that far from being small, isolated individuals alone against the world, we are all engaged in life together with everyone else in the world.

May each of us (and everyone else in the world) reach our goals in plenty of time.

(And may we no longer threaten harm upon the clock, but hug and comfort it because every minute we see it tick off is another abundant minute that we get to be alive.)

Game of the Day

The next time you are running late as you drive to your destination, how can you feel more connected to everyone else on the road?

What will you do to appreciate the time you have to get to your destination instead of trying to beat the clock?

 Jason Freeman is a professional writer, and a one-of-a-kind public speaker.  He is the founder and CEO of Heroic Yes! Productions. Jason has an MFA in Poetry from the University of Nebraska.  He knows the pain of perceiving one’s life through a lens of limitation and also the thrill of moving beyond that mindset.  For more information on Jason’s powerful message, or to book him to present to your organization, go to www.HeroicYesProductions.com.

Leave a Reply

