Savoring Light

I’m into light.  I like sunny days.  I love how it stays light far into the night in the summer.

And this attraction for light doesn’t make me unique.  A great many people would agree with what I wrote in this first line.  Saying, “I’m into light,” is like saying, “I’m into breathing.”

It’s morning as I write this, and I’m looking out the window  wondering, “How often do I really savor light?”

We notice light when it’s gone.  Today is the Winter Solstice, the longest night of the year, at least in the Northern Hemisphere.  In the Northern Hemisphere, there’s going to be less sunlight today than on any other day of the year.  And I’m missing the light.

So it’s morning and there’s light right outside the window, and I’m missing light.  Or, maybe I’m not savoring the abundant light that there is.

If you are anything like me, you notice generally when it is sunny out or when it is cloudy out.  Then it’s easy to go about the busyness of our days and not bask in the light.

Or we save savoring the light for special days like when we are in Hawaii sun-tanning on the beach.

What I’m excited about this morning is that light is available for us to savor every day.  Even today, on the shortest day of the year, there will be light.  Even if it is cloudy out where you are on the shortest day of the year, there will be light.  Even  in the middle of tonight, there will be light around you, a lamp if you turn it on, a candle if you light it, and maybe even a star or two to notice.

Savor the light!  Happy Basking in the Light Day!

Game of the Day

How can you bask in the light today?

2 responses

Leave a Reply

