Bringing Fascination to Our Frustrating Habits

We often attempt to deal with our frustrating habits through guilt, secrecy, and misery.

Today I’m experimenting with a different approach, dealing with frustrating habits through fascination.

I will use my habit of overeating as an example.  I feel that I eat until I’m beyond full at least once a day.

I’m fascinated because I keep doing the same thing over and over again.

A week ago, I walked to a local diner, had a Mexican scramble and even an extra tortilla and I was full and satisfied.  Then, I arrived home and felt I deserved desert.  So, I ate this peanut butter chocolate and peanut mix, which I recently discovered that I could buy in bulk. After dipping my hand in the plastic bag holding the mix too many times, I felt Beyond Full.

I’m fascinated because I keep doing the same thing over and over again.

Tonight, just before beginning to type this blog, wouldn’t you know it, déjà vu!  I had just woken up from a nap.  I knew even before my feet even hit the carpet that I was full.  However, I had the thought that I had just purchased a fresh bag of that peanut butter chocolaty stuff.  And pretty soon, I was dipping my hand into the bag over and over again, while I sat in front of the computer thinking about what I was going to blog about.  Now once again I feel Beyond Full.

And yes, you got it.   I’m fascinated because I keep doing the same thing over and over again.

Part of me thinks that it would be nice if there were a gauge that would tell me when I was full, before I crossed into the Bloated-Feeling Land of Beyond Full.  And I guess there is.  The General Solution to my daily over-eating is counting calories or even more simply paying attention to when my body is telling me enough is enough.

I’m fascinated that I know exactly how to release myself from this habit, but still make the decision to do the same thing over and over again.

As you might imagine, I have told very few people about this fascinating and frustrating habit of mine.  (Well, I guess that is until now.)  I have kept this secret close to the belt, (Ha! Ha!) because, well, it is more than somewhat uncool and really down-right awkward to go around telling people that I feel that I over-eat on an almost daily basis.

I’m fascinated that I’m telling you all of this.

My hope is that being fascinated with my frustrating habit of over-eating will create something other than the cycle of guilt and secrecy that has surrounded this habit.  (Well, definitely the secrecy that has surrounded the bulk peanut butter chocolaty thing that I eat is no more).

(Please keep in mind that this fascination approach to dealing with frustrating habits is just an experiment I came up with tonight and is not meant to replace other approaches to dealing with habits and addictions.)

 Game of the Day

1.  Do you have a frustrating habit that you are dealing through guilt and secrecy?

Each time you chose to participate in this habit say, “I’m fascinated because I keep doing the same thing over and over again.”

2.  What would be the general solution to your frustrating habit?  Write down the general solution to your frustrating habit.  Then say, “I’m fascinated that I know exactly how to release myself from this habit, but still make the decision to do the same thing over and over again.”

3.  Tell someone or even better multiple people about your frustrating habit.  Then say, “I’m fascinated that I’m telling you all of this.”

4.   How does this approach of fascination with your frustrating habit work for you?

5.   What happens to the guilt, secrecy and misery that you feel around your habit?

3 responses

  1. Jason,

    I think you’re on to something here. I have been frustrated, bewildered and dumbfounded by my habits, but using the word fascinated somehow frees a pathway in my mind. It naturally carries me to a state of wonder which is such fertile ground for ideas and action. I think being fascinated holds exciting potential!

    Thanks!
    Rachel

  2. Pingback: Instead of Arguing with Your Bad Habits « Heroic Yes! Productions

Leave a Reply

