The View

When my wonderful friends Dan and Jill came to visit for the All-American Laughter Yoga Conference, I had the opportunity to show them my apartment.  After that, I immediately took them up to my building’s rooftop deck that overlooks downtown San Diego and The Big Bay.

Dan said that he would always be up on the rooftop savoring the view and watching planes fly overhead on their way to land at the airport.

I changed the subject, not wanting to admit that I had not been up there for months, even though the rooftop deck is literally a two-minute walk from my apartment.

I felt like a person who owned a Beverly Hills mansion with an Olympic sized pool and hadn’t used the pool all summer.

What are the breathtaking aspects of your life that you often don’t make time to fully enjoy?

We can become achievement junkies constantly looking towards the next achievement in life and never enjoying the view from where we are.

Living in an apartment with a rooftop deck is very exciting and part of what I achieved when I moved to San Diego.   However, unless I make use of my building rooftop deck by savoring and celebrating it, I do not allow myself to feel the power of this achievement.

Let’s become our own excited visitors.  Let’s notice how amazing our lives are.

Game of the Day

Have fun looking at your life through the eyes of an excited visitor.

Leave a Reply

