Appreciation Monday

We feel exhilaration when we see someone’s face light up as we genuinely appreciate him or her.

For the last few months, one of my intentions has been to voice appreciation for everyone I come in contact with.  Sometimes I simply smile, sometimes I acknowledge something I admire about a person, and sometimes I thank the person for what they contribute to the world.

This intention was put to the test recently when I was walking in a park.  I was about to pass by a man unloading portable toilets from a truck.  Instead, I stopped for a minute and thought about all this man does.  Because of his work people are spared pain and suffering and possibly embarrassment.  With this realization, I thanked him for the work that he was doing.  Then possibly a little stunned, he thanked me for what I said.

I find that by appreciating other people, we give them a gift, naturally make new friends and develop community around us.

Dale Carnegie once observed, “You have it easily in your power to increase the sum total of this world’s happiness now.  How?  By giving a few words of sincere appreciation to someone…Perhaps you will forget tomorrow the kind words you say today, but the recipient may cherish them over a lifetime.” *

I have also found another great benefit of this exercise.  As we develop more ability to appreciate the people around us, we tend to gain ability to appreciate ourselves.

* Quote from ThinkExist.com

Game of the Day

For one hour or for the whole day, find a way to appreciate everyone that you come in contact with.

Leave a Reply

