The Play of Miracles

What a miracle it is that we have the power to play at creating our dreams.  Yet it is tempting to wait on the sidelines for miracles to happen to us.

 Miracles probably have always required that the recipient participate.  I don’t imagine that Jesus forced Lazarus to rise from the dead. Lazarus was probably free to choose to stay dead if he had so wanted.

Merriam Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary defines a miracle as “1. An extraordinary event manifesting divine intention in human affairs. 2. An extremely outstanding or unusual event, thing or accomplishment.”

 When I read these definitions, they sound amazingly out of reach, like something that happened in ancient times or something I would read about in Reader’s Digest or see on TV if I owned a TV.

 What do you think about when you read these definitions?

 When we think something will never happen in our lives, it’s tempting to stop playing, to step off the field and sit down on the sidelines.  But there is another way.

 For most of my life, I imagined that because of my birth trauma I would never feel athletic. I imagined that I would always feel extremely uncoordinated, inflexible and lack self-confidence.

 What things frustrate you about your life that you assume will never change?

 Based on these imaginings, I avoided all sorts of activities that might remind me and reveal to other people that I was uncoordinated and inflexible.

 I disabled myself when I chose not to fully participate in my life.

 Are there areas of life where you have chosen not to participate?

 I discovered one of my biggest abilities when I learned to participate in the miracles that were offered to me.

 The miracle of coordination, flexibility and self-confidence was offered to me in the form of yoga.  But to realize this miracle I had to participate in it class after class, month after month.  Yoga would have been just a funny word and signs I saw on the street if I never tried it.

 Have you participated in a miracle and, if so, what did it feel like?

Yoga wasn’t a one class, do a few downward dogs and few forward folds and I’m healed miracle for me. My faith in the value of yoga and my dedication to my yoga routine became a miracle.  This dedication may have been manifestations of divine intention in my life, because before yoga I was never much for consistently practicing something with joy.

 Game of the Day

 What miracle is being offered to you now and asking for your faith and participation?

2 responses

  1. Beautiful. Thank you. The first two posts I’ve read have been about Gifts and Miracles. Thank you for making me think about these things.

Leave a Reply

