Developing A Keen Grasp Of The Obvious

Yesterday in this blog, I wrote about how transformative appreciation can be.  Right now, little more than twenty-four hours later, I’m faced with a dilemma in which I want to be frustrated and ungrateful instead of appreciative.

This is a bit of a bizarre story.  You see, I was eating lunch at my computer and a bit of bean fell in between the keys on my keyboard and got stuck.  The thought of a sliver of green bean rotting in my keyboard grossed me out; so on impulse, I took a butter knife, wedged it under the key and flipped the ALT key off my keyboard, so I could liberate the bit of bean.  But now I can’t get the ALT key to reattach to my keyboard.

I’m inclined to focus exclusively on the missing ALT instead of being grateful that I still have all the keys of the alphabet and numbers zero thru nine on my keyboard.

This is so life isn’t it?  Sometimes it is easy to focus on the metaphorical missing ALT key rather than to appreciate the abundance of what works in our lives.

Back in high school, my friend Chris Moneke came up with the phrase, “A keen grasp of the obvious” to describe common sense.  Having a “keen grasp of the obvious” sounds so easy, but I have found the obvious goodness of life is amazingly hard to see when we are focused on problems.  Find a missing ALT key to worry about, and the rest of our keyboard that is in fine working order can seem to disappear.

I find that we not only have the opportunity to continually ask ourselves questions that call for a response of appreciation, but also to take the time to practice noticing and appreciating the whole keyboard of our lives.  A missing ALT key is only a huge deal if it is all we see.  While it is natural to feel and even mourn the loss of our missing ALT keys, we can, at the same time, teach ourselves to develop a keen grasp of the obvious beauty and wonder around us.

Game of the Day

Take fifteen or twenty minutes to engage in an activity that opens you up to appreciating beauty in the world.  For example, walking slowly around your neighborhood and really noticing the architecture, plants and trees is a wonderful way to become more appreciative of the place you live and life in general.

2 responses

Leave a Reply

